Mapping location data with Mapbox

new mapboxgl.Map({myEntireGoogleLocationData})

Chandan Rauniyar
4 min readMay 27, 2019

It is no surprise that Google notoriously tracks user’s location information. When you are at home, when you drive to work, when you visit businesses, restaurants literally every single move you make. Of course, Google can only track this information if the user enables this setting against their account.

Google announced on 01 May 2019 that it is Introducing auto-delete controls for user’s Location History and activity data.

After Google’s announcement, I was curious to see what type of location data is stored against my account. I downloaded my data in JSON format at https://takeout.google.com. The zip archive was around 45 MB. I wasn’t surprised at this point but little did I know, I was about to be blown away. I downloaded the file and unzipped it. There was an 800 MB JSON file named Location History.json

--

--

Chandan Rauniyar

Senior Software developer | Visual learner | Love all things Android